An Introduction

An Introduction

Ok, here we go. Admittedly, I’ve started blogs in the past and ended up failing to post on a regular basis, or even just forgetting about them. There are probably even a few still out there that I’ve neglected to delete, gathering dust and cobwebs in the dark recesses of the internet. But now I think I’ve identified the problem: I simply didn’t have enough going on in my life to produce regular content. Now though, that’s not the case.

In the last year, I have moved from my sleepy (albeit lovely) seaside hometown in the North West to East London with my girlfriend, Anna; I have very nearly finished my first year studying BA English at University College London; I am writing for the theatre section of Savage Journal (a UCL magazine); I am making an effort to write creatively (poetry, prose, drama, and Youtube films) on a regular basis; and, finally, I am a few weeks into learning how to code. In short, there is a lot more going on in my life now than there was a year ago, and I suppose that’s part of why I wanted to start this blog – to keep track of it all. 

Now, I’m not really sure what form this blog is going to take just yet; my limited coding knowledge doesn’t really allow for much creativity in its design, so for now I am sticking with the provided templates, but in the future I intend to take a more independent approach, designing the site how would like. This way, I can chart my progress not only through what is written on the blog, but also how it is displayed. In terms of how often I update the blog, I do intend to post daily, mostly charting my progress as I learn to code (which I try to practice daily at freeCodeCamp), but perhaps that’s a bit ambitious. We’ll see.

What I do know, is that the blog posts will be divided into fairly clear sections. I would like this to be a place where I can share my thoughts on all areas of my life, from my academic studies, to the poetry I write, to my journey as I learn to code. Whilst these may not share equal space on the blog, I will try to devote some time to each of them.

I want to draw a parallel between this blog and the Essais of Montaigne – not that I think I’m going to be one of the most influential essayists of all time, but rather that the blog will be, like Montaigne’s essays, a kind of self-exploration, rather than an exposition of facts. And, seeing as I have apparently decided to finish my first post on a pretentious note, I’ll end with a quote that I find useful and relevant (even if I do not entirely agree with it from a philosophical perspective):

“The unexamined life is not worth living” – Socrates.

Featured Image: The Death of Socrates, by Jacques-Louis David (1787)
One thought on “An Introduction

Leave a Reply

