Diary – Tessa and Ollie Are Here

In yesterday’s post I mentioned that it was Anna’s birthday. What I didn’t mention, though, was that her twin sister, Tessa, and her boyfriend were paying her a surprise visit, travelling down overnight from St.Annes (where our families live) to our flat in London. I also didn’t mention what this entailed: for Tessa and Ollie, it meant a 7 hour coach journey, and for me, a panic when I woke just before 6 to messages from Tessa telling me they were going to be early, leaving little time for Anna to wake up at a reasonable time, eat breakfast, watch the video Tessa asked me to make, open Tessa’s presents etc. After a very long conversation over text, though, it all turned out pretty well, and I think Anna was quite surprised to see their faces when she opened the door.

For the rest of the day the four of us pottered about on Oxford Street (after Tessa and Ollie rested from a long, sleepless bus journey,) wandering in and out of shops and stopping for coffee breaks (always the best bit, if you ask me). In the evening we went to Wildwood, a restaurant just opposite the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden, where I took my mum for her birthday a couple of weeks ago. After that, we just went home to watch Nerve, which me and Anna have already seen but enjoyed nevertheless. Everyone seemed pretty tired.

All in all, it was a pretty enjoyable day, though it did mean that I got no real work or revision done. Unfortunately, as Tessa and Ollie are sleeping on the sofa-bed in the front room, I’ve not had a very productive morning either. Normally, that room is where I go in the morning, to avoid disturbing Anna and alleviate the temptation of returning to bed. When I can’t get in there, there’s really nowhere else for me to go and so, predictably, the temptation was too much and I went back to bed for an hour, waking at 7 for a shower and breakfast. I’ll try and get some coding practice done later, I think, when Anna’s at uni. I should do some revision as well, I suppose.

All in all, it’s been an enjoyable couple of days. I am looking forward to getting back to my ‘ordinary’ life, though. I enjoy habit; I think (for me at least) it inspires a lot more creativity, as it removes many of the external distractions that I so often fall prey to.

2 thoughts on “Diary – Tessa and Ollie Are Here

Leave a Reply

