Diary – Marathons, Flowers, and Photoshoots

Yesterday was the London Marathon. To be honest, I didn’t even realise until the day before, when I was told by my mum. It’s funny, how I ended up finding out from my family who live all that way away in Lancashire, when the race is almost literally on my doorstep. I suppose it’s partly because I tend to just read international news, only really seeking out national stories to do with politics or culture. It probably also has something to do with the fact that I’ve never taken much interest in these big ‘all-the-nation-comes-together’ events. Not that I don’t respect people’s choices to take part in them, it’s just not my kind of thing. Maybe it’s a generational thing.

I am glad I was told it was happening in advance, though, as the scenes outside would have been pretty eerie if I hadn’t known! After my usual morning (breakfast and coding etc.) we set off on our bikes to do the shopping. Coming out of the building where we live, the street outside – normally a constant river of noisy traffic – was almost empty, like a wasteland, and hushed. We guessed that it was closed off for the marathon route and I’ve just checked – it came closer than I thought, joining Commercial Road a little way down from us. We didn’t see any of it, though.

We arrived at the shops¬†about 20 minutes early, not accounting for the fact it was a Sunday, and joined the few people hovering about, peering through the glass and waiting for the automatic doors to slide open. Whilst we were waiting I picked up the compost I needed to plant the peas and mint – big bags were stacked outside – and a pretty big crowd grew all around us. For some reason, when the doors opened, this crowd surged forwards in a mad rush, blocking trolleys and pushing in front of one another. Is the need to get into Lidl a few seconds faster really that desperate? I wondered. Oh well.¬†When we’d finished shopping I draped the big bag of compost over my pannier rack and we cycled home. I was a bit worried going over the bumps but it stayed on fine. All of the way, Anna had some flowers we bought sticking out of the top of her rucksack, looking like she was in some indie film.

Back at home we had lunch and then set about taking some pictures for Anna’s business Instagram. At first we were struggling for ideas, but they ended up looking really nice – incorporating the flowers we bought in Lidl – especially when Anna had finished editing them. This took up quite a lot of time, though, and so I didn’t have as much time as I would’ve liked to work on the ‘Basic Algorithm Scripting’ projects I’m working on at the moment. It’s becoming more difficult to feel like I’ve made significant progress, as I can’t always finish a single exercise in one sitting – I just have to keep reminding myself that I’m still gaining value from the trial-and-error approach, as I’m learning and revising different techniques. I did get some coding done later on, though, along with more revision.

Today Anna’s at uni for most of the day, so I’m going to be carrying on as normal, with some household jobs thrown in.

2 thoughts on “Diary – Marathons, Flowers, and Photoshoots

  1. I’m sorry I wasn’t there, I love places that are normally busy that suddenly transform into silent empty spaces. It’s happened to be a few times on motorways and in London walking through the financial district on a Sunday. One of my favourite scenes from a movie that I don’t recall the exact details of has a scientist being woken up by some airforce officer and driven to an undisclosed location along the highway, she doesn’t realise the import of her trip until she notices that this 5 lane highway has been closed to all other traffic to clear her way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

