Diary – Saturday Shopping

Yesterday was my favourite day of the week – shopping day. It’s not just the fact that we come home with bags full of lovely food (though that certainly helps) – it’s the whole process: cycling to Lidl through my favourite park with Anna, wandering down the aisles thinking about what we’ll be eating for the week, cycling home the way we came, and eating the pastries (a treat we buy from the bakery section every week) for lunch, either back at home or in the park. That’s pretty much how it went yesterday, after I’d worked on the ‘Random Quote Generator’ I’ve been making and written my diary entry.

When we got home, we had lunch (they’d sold out of the fancy pesto and goat’s cheese focaccia I normally have, so I opted for veggie pizza) and listened to a bit of Steve’s interview on ‘The Veg Grower Podcast’, which was good – you could tell the host was impressed! Then we popped out to the post office for Anna to send a parcel off and to Sainsbury’s, to buy what we couldn’t get/didn’t have space to carry back from Lidl (just bread and milk, really).

Back home again, I carried on with coding and revision, and after tea me and Anna sat for a long time figuring out designs for her project at uni. I really enjoy helping out, although I’m mostly just a surface to bounce ideas off and I don’t really know what I’m talking about! Before bed we watched an episode of Madmen – which we’re both still really enjoying, though Anna’s getting a bit annoyed at some of the enigmatic storylines, which reveal themselves very slowly. I think that’s one of the elements that sets American TV apart from English TV (on the whole) – their willingness to carry out a story over a greater length of time in order to build tension and steadily develop the characters. I suppose you could be cynical and say they’re just dragging it out, but for me, it’s one of the best kinds of storytelling.

This morning I’ve pretty much finished the ‘Random Quote Generator”s functionality and style – I just need to add in the rest of my quotes which is easily done. The brief required that I add a ‘post to Twitter’ button, which I had some trouble with, but it’s working alright now, barring the fact that the ‘<\em>’ tag, which is hidden in the CodePen programme, is visible in the tweet text. I’m not exactly going to be posting Milton quotes to Twitter, though, and it would require editing the text of every quote to fix, so I’m not going to worry about it right now.

Today Anna has a lot of work to do, so I’ll just be carrying on as normal, though it looks like it’s going to be a nice day so I might have a wander somewhere.

If anyone’s interested, the CodePen project is available here: Random Revision Quote Generator

The featured image is an amazing aerial shot of Victoria Park, the park we cycle through on the way to Lidl, courtesy of adventureballoons.co.uk, as I seem to have taken all of my photos of the park off my phone.

2 thoughts on “Diary – Saturday Shopping

Leave a Reply

