Diary – Another Double Diary

I forgot to write a diary again yesterday, but we haven’t been very busy the last couple of days so even this double entry will be reasonably short.

On Tuesday morning we went out to the office and Sainsbury’s, where a fire alarm had evacuated the whole workforce of the cross rail worksite (pictured above), who were still outside when we’d bought our bread and milk and wandered back home. Here, I began reading Lord Byron’s Don Juan, which I’m enjoying so far – it’s much funnier than I expected and quite easy to read, too. We ate lunch on the balcony, as we have most days this week, and didn’t do much in the afternoon, mostly just sitting around and listening to music.

After tea and before bed, we watched The Circle, a new Netflix film based on the book (and the script) by Dave Eggers, a writer I’ve enjoyed in the past. The film was very relevant to today’s issues – though it is speculative the events could pretty easily occur next week – but was occasionally a little bit blunt or over-obvious in the way it handled the perils of social media/technology etc. The ending also felt like a bit of a cop-out, seemingly ignoring most of the issues raised in the narrative (unless that was the point and I just missed it). Overall, though, it was pretty enjoyable and well-written.

Yesterday I spent most of the day practicing something I haven’t done properly in a long time – drawing, with a bit of digital illustration. It took me quite a while to produce and colour/shade a few images, but now I think I’ve got the hang of the updated Photoshop and I’m looking forward to experimenting with it.

Before bed we watched the second episode of The People vs. O.J.Simpson, which we’re enjoying, though I’m not sure I think it’s as great as many people have made it out to be.

Leave a Reply

